Java webapp performance riddle

We have two servers: acceptance an production.

One day I noticed that an average page loading is 2 seconds on production while it is 0.5 seconds on acceptance.

Hm, fucking DB guys are fucking around with fucking DB. I thought.

I enabled log4jdbc. Checked DB query timings. And they were the same as on acceptance.

Then I put more logging to the controller. I understood that the controller works fast. Page rendering is slow.

I added more logging to the web layer. There is no decent bottleneck in the application. It is damn slow all around. I checked garbage collector – it was fine.

Then checked all the logic spread around the application: permissions, logging, i18n. I found and fixed numerous bugs. Did a pile of performance optimizations. But in the end prod was 2 times slower than acceptance still.

Then I though this is the hardware. I checked memory, CPU, HDD. The servers are the same.

I implemented a small arithmetic progression summing algorithm without any third party dependencies and ran them using java outside of tomcat. The are equally fast.

Running the same algorithm inside tomcat leads to 4 times difference on prod.

Then I decided – this is JVM.

I checked JVM parameters and found that it has the following on acceptance but not on production:

-XX:ReservedCodeCacheSize=256m -XX:+UseCodeCacheFlushing -XX:CodeCacheFlushingMinimumFreeSpace=20m

Fixing that fixed the half year problem.

Trying to do a retrospective I understand that there is no were no way to figure out that code cache region was exhausing.

Java specs promise to file a warning in this case

Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM warning: CodeCache is full. Compiler has been disabled.

But I have not see anything like that in logs.

Conclusion

UseCodeCacheFlushing. Remember. Always. Especially when you use Groovy in your application.

About andrewosipenko

Java dev. Groovy dev. Grails dev. Project man.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

